You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 28, 2011.

The seemingly endless move is finally done. 

Done is, of course, a relative term. 

But when I say done, I mean that the last item was carried out of the Cottage – by me – today.  Before I left, I walked through each room.  The painter was already working, so it didn’t feel like it was my home anymore, but still, the memories remain.

Tearful conversations and good night hugs.  Holiday dinners eaten over the stove and on the kitchen floor.  Happy showers.  Love and laughter well made in the sunny bedroom, with hopes of shocking the Sunday morning congregations.  Naps on the red couch,  A lot of memories.  And a few tears as I left, with that one last item, a wine carafe experimented with with much mirth.

Everything is here now.  And I have been sleeping here for almost a week.  I sleep well here.  I am exhausted.  I haven’t gotten home from working, moving, cleaning until after 8 every day this week. I come home and forage for food and crawl into bed.  I’m the lead writer on a huge proposal at work, so even after crawling into bed, I was editing until I couldn’t keep my eyes open.  So unpacking didn’t happen this week.

The movers were … okay.  One was great, but his two adolescent helpers were dawdlers, and so I wound up paying extra for their time, which pissed me off.  But Ruben did take apart and put together my bed, which was really, really helpful.  Although he made it higher than it had been, somehow, so I almost fell out of it trying to reach something on the floor, which was greatly amusing to me, even in my exhausted state.  I only had one casualty – the bookcase.  You know the one, right?  The one put together without any nails?  Yea, that one.  It didn’t survive.  And I didn’t think it would, so … okay.

So I’m negotiating around boxes, trying to unpack when I can.  Trying to get things washed and sparkling.  The Bungalow is happy to have me here, and it feels very homey, like I’ve been here for a long time.  It is quiet at night, and the birds are chirping and cooing in the mornings.  I even saw a bunny in the alley today.

Being as old as it is – 111 and one of the oldest houses in town – it has its spirits.  I have glimpsed them out of the corner of my eye.  They are curious and embracing, but slightly surprised to have someone here with any sensitivity to them  We’ll see how that relationship evolves.

This will be Kelsea’s first night here.  And Niece One’s as well.  She is going to live here until August until she goes to teach overseas.  I hope they are as enamoured of it as I am.  It is a great little house, and I want it to be a home. 

I know my true home is where my heart lies.  And my heart is both waiting and restless right now.

Photo title: Alone and Lonely

Somewhere In the Caribbean.

Quote of the day: “Love consists in this, that two solitudes protect and touch and greet each other.”  –  Rainer Maria Rilke

Daily Gratitudes
Laughing with Christine
My little Bungalow (and those with whom I will share it)
Baseball stadiums
Email
Hard-won common sense

Archives

Make your life a little sweeter every day! Sign up for an email subscription to Seasweetie.

Join 897 other followers

wordpress stats
plugin
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 897 other followers

