Waking up to NPR is an interesting thing.  Sometimes I just sleep right through until Alarm #2 (the phone) goes off.  Today, I was already half-awake because of the wind.  The story of the earthquake in Japan made my eyes fly open.

My heart and thoughts, prayers and healing energy goes out to the people impacted by this disaster.  Some of the footage coming out of Japan is amazing – breathtakingly horrifying. 

I have always been fascinated by natural disasters, particularly ones involving water, due to my prophetic “water dreams”, which I’ll talk about another time.  Now, I am glued to the computer and the TV, watching coverage on Hawaii’s KITV4, which has a live webcam going.  While there fortunately hasn’t been a huge sweeping surge, it was fascinating to watch a view of the calm sea suddenly start to move around.  And now the sea is calm again (temporarily).  As one newswoman said, “Nothing super-duper dramatic.”  It seems they dodged a bullet (though I recall saying that very thing about New Orleans when Hurricane Katrina first came ashore, so don’t listen to me.)

I’m frustrated with local news coverage, which has barely touched on this disaster and has carried its usual intolerable load of stupid commercials.

In a small point of morning irony, my hot water heater is broken.  Some have too much water and others, not enough.

To share with you one more interesting coincidence, www.seattlepi.com carried an interesting story of newly discovered color photographs of the 1906 San Francisco earthquake taken by an experimental photographer named Frederick Eugene Ives.  I’ve certainly seen photos of the aftermath of this earthquake before, but these just struck me.  Why?  Because of the color.  I suddenly realized that on some less than conscious level, I had almost thought of the world back then as colorless, since I’ve only seen black and white photos.  The color images made it feel so much more modern.  I was flabbergasted (your good word for the day) by my own reaction.

Time for a Puerto Rican shower and off to work.  Blessings to all in the world on this day of earthquakes and floods.

