I am under the weather, which is difficult to be, since the weather is so low.

My mind was wandering, as it sometimes does, and it came to rest on a recent viewing on National Geographic or the Discovery Channel of a whale exploding on a flatbed truck in Taiwan.  Totally disgusting.  But of course, that made me curious and so I googled “exploding whale”.  Lo and behold, I discovered that this is NOT the first time such a thing has happened (though it was a first for downtown Taiwan.)   Back in 1970 on a beach in Oregon, they blew up a beached whale (it had already expired.)  In fact, between 2001 and 2008, nine cases of exploding whales have been reported worldwide.  You can find more information than you want at www.theExplodingWhale.com.  Be warned – it can be pretty gross. 

Big, fat, happy snowflakes are falling outside.  As a follow-up to this morning’s post, I guess that’s one nice thing about winter.

Why is it that Pat gets defensive over any suggestion I make regardless of how I couch it, or what the topic is?

I bought myself a bouquet of stock earlier this week.  It’s a lovely flower, mostly shades of purple and white, and wonderfully fragrant.  I grew it in the garden once and was very proud of myself.

My feet are cold and I can’t warm them up.  I should try my own suggestion of cayenne pepper in my socks.  It seems a lot of old-timey remedies involved socks.  (Like the sock full of hot salt for earaches.)  Guess socks are one thing that pioneers always had?

There’s one damn Miller moth in my cottage.  One.  More than enough.  One.

I am sick, queasy, and in the mood for ice-cold vodka – how freakish is that?

I miss my friend Diane.  She’s like a big sister I’ve never met and I haven’t heard from her in months.  I’m worried about her.

I would love to sleep for 24 hours.  Sleep, nap, doze, nap.  Whatever.  Nap.  Sigh.

QuiltK asleepMexico Bed