You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 4, 2012.

If you’re not familiar with this feature of the blog, each week I introduce you to a poem that I think is lovely, moving, or otherwise striking. I hope, if you like what you read here, that you’ll seek out other poems from the authors that you meet here. When I can, I will find artwork that is the ice cream on the poetry cake, so I can introduce you to new artists as well.

And as  a complement to The Weekly Wednesday Poem, I’ll be publishing an Original Thursday Poem each week, which will be one of my own poems from sometime in the past or present.

Today’s guest poet: Rainer Maria Rilke

Woman In Love
That is my window. Just now
I have so softly wakened.
I thought that I would float.
How far does my life reach,
and where does the night begin

I could think that everything
was still me all around;
transparent like a crystal’s
depths, darkened, mute.

I could keep even the stars
within me; so immense
my heart seems to me; so willingly
it let him go again,

whom I began perhaps to love, perhaps to hold.
Like something strange, undreamt-of,
my fate now gazes at me.

For what, then, am I stretched out
beneath this endlessness,
exuding fragrance like a meadow,
swayed this way and that,

calling out and frightened
that someone will hear the call,
and destined to disappear
inside some other life.

Woman at the Window by Shirley Fachilla. Check out her blog and her amazing art at http://sometimesapainting.blogspot.com.

Yesterday marked my 1000th post on Seasweetie’s Pages. That is something.

I had been looking forward to writing about it, but today there is something more important. Because today I know that Patty is gone.

Patty was the loving owner of the wonderful blog meanderingminds. I do not know what happened exactly – only that she has passed.

When I got back from the islands, she wrote that her blog was taking a few days off, as she and Rudi were going to Florida.  When she didn’t get back for a week or so, I waited.  Then I wondered. I didn’t hear from her via email. She didn’t respond on Facebook. I started to worry. I mentioned it to MKL and to Kelsea.  And today, I searched, and found a memorial page to her at the homeopathic institute that she and Rudi collaborated on. She was gone. I started to cry. I’m still crying.

Strange and wonderful how someone you meet through a blog can touch you so deeply. Patty became like a mother to me in many ways – she scolded me when I was drinking too much Diet Pepsi, advised me on cures for colds, comforted me when I was blue and feeling unloveable.  We were like kindred spirits. One of her daughters had the same name (albeit spelled differently) as mine, and the other daughter and I were, she thought, a lot alike.

I feel in love with her art, her photographs, her adorable Havanese named Truffles, with how wonderful and caring Rudi was. I worried with her through the summer hurricanes. She sent me a book to read on my island trip. Just this weekend, I was looking for a particular gift for her. We’d talked about my coming to Hope Town this spring.  I was hoping I could talk her into selling me the painting of the roses that she did in Sidney this summer – it was my favorite of her works. There was so much I was looking forward to sharing with her, and learning about her.

I feel like I’ve lost a surrogate mother and a dear friend. I guess I have.

She was a light in this world. To honor her, I will keep writing and taking pictures. Maybe I’ll even try to paint as she was encouraging me to do.

Her blog will remain where it last rested – taking a few days off.

Oh, Patty, I will miss you so.

Photo for January 4, 2012: Sea of Sorrow

Somewhere outside of Tenby, Wales.

Quote of the day: “When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight.”  ~  Kahlil Gibran

Daily gratitudes:
That Patty was in my life for as long as she was
An amazingly beautiful sunset
Walking Kelsea home on the phone
Water
Bookstores

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Make your life a little sweeter every day! Sign up for an email subscription to Seasweetie.

Join 1,057 other followers

wordpress stats
plugin
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,057 other followers

