I’m not a huge fan of resolutions, but I am hoping to try some for the blog.  I was soooo good about posting every day until the last two weeks or so. I’m not sure why I’ve fallen off. I think it’s partly because of the winter blues. I’ve actually been writing more than usual, just on paper not on this keyboard.

Right now, I’m snuggled in bed, working, fighting what seems to be a perpetual rundown-ness, with a cat snuggled at my thigh, a bottle of San Pel at hand, and something old on the TV.  As hard as it was to get any enthusiasm together for the holidays, I’m sad they’re over.  The New Year is off to a good start though – we spent yesterday at the auction, where we bought some cool and strange things. MKL and I bought our first thing ‘together’, which was really cool on a lot of levels. And Kelsea had, as usual, the patience of Job.

Work starts in earnest again tomorrow, along with the year.  So what can you expect from the blog this year?  Well, a few things.

1.  I’d like to continue to share a photo a day, along with quotes and gratitudes.

2. I’d like to provide you with more travel tales, since that’s what I love – so I plan to publish some older travel tales, taking them from paper to screen.

3. I wish to revivify the Weekly Wednesday Poem. I enjoyed learning about new poets and introducing them to you each week.

4. I want to revivify the Original Thursday Poem.  I miss my poetry.

5. More essays and opinions – from me, of course. I miss thinking about things other than work.

6. I’m still going to try for a post a day.

Anything else you readers would like to see?  I’m curious.

So, that said, he’s the Photo of the Day for January 2, 2012.

Photo title: Centerpieces

Jost van Dyke, British Virgin Islands.

Quote of the day: “Going home means getting comfortable being who you are and who your soul really wants to be. There is no strain with that. The strain and tension come when we’re not being who our soul wants to be and we’re someplace where our soul doesn’t feel at home”.  –  Melody Beattie

Daily gratitudes:
MKL
Ahmed the coffee merchant, the latest member of the household
Old quilts
Knowing that spring is coming
Geese thick in dead cornfields

