You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 26, 2011.

Last Time

The last time I saw you
my knees shook.

They actually did.

They went weak,
so weak
I was afraid
I might fall,
Fall even deeper.

That hadn’t happened since a summer of 16
when my first great love
looked at me with
his amazing blue eyes
on a morning as we
waited for breakfast.

I never forgot the feeling
or the moment.

That had already ended by then too,

By the time he looked at me.

And yet I pined for him for years.
Just as I pine for you now.

I wonder what that says about me?
I hope it’s that I love well
and deeply.
(And not that I am stupid.)

He and I spent one night
bundled under illicit furs
on a bare floor
doing nothing but holding each other
and talking in front of the fire.

You and I had so much more.

Now, he is thousands of mile away,
and you?
Well, you might as well be.

But me -
I still feel like 16.

Photo credit: Arvind Balaraman at http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

Photo title:  The Man In The Moon Takes A Vacation

White Bay, Jost van Dyke, British Virgin Islands.

Quote of the day: “Never allow someone to be your priority while allowing yourself to be their option.”  —  Anonymous

Daily gratitudes:
Good olfactory hallucinations (that’s a blog post in itself)
My beautiful, kind, intelligent daughter
Benadryl
Birdsong outside my window in the morning
Dreams

Archives

Make your life a little sweeter every day! Sign up for an email subscription to Seasweetie.

Join 1,015 other followers

wordpress stats
plugin
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,015 other followers

