You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 15, 2011.

I’m at that awkward age between birth and death.

I think I’ve seen that on a bumper sticker.  I know I heard it from Kelsea’s lips a couple of days ago.  I am certain that it applies to me just as surely as it applies to a 14-year old.

I’m at that age where I can no longer tell if someone is being nice to me because I am a “woman of a certain age” or because they find me attractive.  Maybe it’s because I don’t know if I see myself as an attractive, desirable woman any more.  And if I don’t, I don’t think that anyone else will.  Being dumped is a real ego-killer.

My dear friend AOW recently explored the “Who am I” question on her blog.  There’s no one answer to the “WAI” question.  And who you are changes over time.  It’s fluid.  Since I’ve restarted therapy, we talk a lot about valuing myself.  I understand that on an intellectual level, and I say in my head, “of course I value myself”.  But I am suspicious – I suspect I don’t really know what that means.

Have I really spent my entire life jumping from relationship to relationship looking for safety, protection, validation?  I feel like I have spent a lot of my life alone, even though I’ve been in relationships most of the time since I was 18.  I feel like I’ve “made it on my own” – moving across the country, finishing school, getting jobs.   My ex-husband never contributed and supported (or protected) me.  I always thought I did it myself.  No one else ever contributed financially, that’s for sure.

But now, it really feels like I’m alone for the first time.  In the past, when I was single, I still had my parent’s support.  Sometimes, it feels like that’s one of the things I’ve had for so many years that’s missing now – daily contact with someone who loves me.

As I say, I rationally understand that the person who loves me with whom I need daily contact is me.  I’m working hard at understanding how to value myself, why my past relationships were examples of how I wasn’t valued, and why I allowed that to be acceptable behavior.  In short, I am doing the work I need to do in order to not make the same mistakes in the next relationship – assuming there is one.  And doing the work to understand the joy of just being me – alone.

Good for me!

Photo Title: Mahogany Reflections

Seattle, Washington.

Quote of the Day: “This art of Love discloses the special and sacred identity of the other person. Love is the only Light that can truly read the secret signature of the other person’s individuality and soul.”  —  John O’Donahue

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Archives

Make your life a little sweeter every day! Sign up for an email subscription to Seasweetie.

Join 953 other followers

wordpress stats
plugin
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 953 other followers

